Medium Format Forum

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

I am new here what lens use for portrait photography

Hi all I am totally new with MF.

I expect per mail my first HB 501 CM body. Why MF? DSLR is great, but MF photos are spectacular and amazing for me!
I am looking forward to my first shots of MF.

I try to find another view over on my photographic world with HB lens.

I photograph about 7 years as an amateur. At present time I use Nikon D80.

I would like to shoot portrait at interior and outside also.

Please can You recommend me some good lens for me?
1/ I would like to know as well which magazine can I use with 501 CM.
2/ I will also appreciate help with my first lens. My focus is now portraiture, family photos, I would like to try fashion and glamour photography.
3/ Exposure meter will be also need, can you recommend me some one?

Have you some fave eshop where you buy HB accessories?

Thank You very much.

Jan

Welcome to group therepy, Jan!
biggrin.gif
As a very general rule, lenses for portrait shooting tend to be a little longer than normal lenses, for ex&le, 135mm. 150mm, or 180mm. I use a 150mm because it came with the camera when I bought it used, and I've been happy with it. Alot of folks say that you need a small extention tube with the 150mm for portraits, but I haven't found it to be a problem without one. A good basic set would be a 50mm, an 80mm or 100mm, and a 150mm.

Stick with A12 backs...they're alot easier to load correctly! Actulally,, any of the "A" series of backs are OK, but you'll probably find 120 film easier to find than 220 and, at first, a square format is iasier to work with on a 'blad than the rectangular format of the 16 exposure backs.