Medium Format Forum

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

ZEISS SONNAR F 250mm 56 CAMERA LENS

applezappa

Hiya,

Just got given a Hasselblad 500 c/m camera with above lens.

I'm new to to medium format cameras, but am very excited about it.

What kind of pictures are achievable with above lens, and could anyone give any feedback on the lens i should get as a first purchase.

I've a limited budget (any good second hand lenses for +/_500 US?, and where to look for them)

Thanks again.

Looking forward.

Nice present! A 250mm is not the first lens people typically think of, it must be said. Do you have a filmback with the camera? If so, what type?

Wilko

Best bang for the buck in that price range would be 80mm 2.8 CF. Good place to start is KEH.com. You can do better on price but they are "risk free".

Steve

The first Hasselblad lens I brought was the 250mm because it was available at a good price. Then I picked up the 80mm ($500), followed by the 50mm (B60)and finally the 150mm.

All CF lenses.

Steve

Hiya folks,

Thanks for the responses.

------------------
Wilko : Yes i have an A12 back.
------------------------

Just bought a B&W developing kit.

I'll probably be looking for 50 or 60mm at the moment.Anyone to persuade me for which one i should go for?

Ps. I bought a Seaugull stereo camera for peanuts on ebay. The only problem was that the shutter wasn't working properly but the camera repairman said it'll be easily fixed + He told me i might be surprised with the pictures i would be taking with this cheapo camera. Maybe i should post this one in a new tread.

Anyhow, thanks again for your feedback.

Dominique,

Although it is difficult to recommend any lenstype over the
other without knowing what your shooting style & preferences are: