Medium Format Forum

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

Which Prism

G

Hi
I'm brand new to Hasselblad and medium format , having just purchased a 501cm second hand.
It has a waist level viewfinder, which I'm having trouble coming to terms with and am looking for advice on which prism , if any , I should go for.
Thanks
Bernard

Hi Bernard,

in your case I would first really try to get used to the waist level viewfinder. It gives your significant better judgement about the final image. The prism viewfinder is nice because of the additional metering modes (if you pick one with it), but you make basically a step backwards into 135 with using the prism.

You can not overview in the same way the image and decide for framing. Half of the fun for me with Medium Format is the way you can take and see images with the waist level viewfinder.

But if you absolutely want to have one, take a 45 degree prism. this gives you a more relaxing handling then a 90 degree prism.

Dirk

I agree Dirk, the whole issue is the way one frames, you may notice that when taking people they look at the camera (you !) in a different manner to SLR with prism, be that Nikon or hassy. This is because you are "not" facing the person.

The only alternative being leica where they look at you as if you came from the past with grandad's camera.

As for the metering taking into account that one has to dial the reading into the camear each time...

Tim