Medium Format Forum

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

Want day pack with room for clothes hasselblad

rogerxnz

I'm looking for a day pack with room for personal gear and a basic hasselblad oufit. I'm looking at a Tamrac 5549 Adventure 9 (www.tamrac.com/welcome2.htm) and a National Geographic/Bogen Earth Explorer Medium Backpack (5162). See http://www.bogenimaging.us/

I'm sure the Tamrac will have good padding but it doesn't have the same number of pockets and it's a little too large for my needs.

Has anyone seen the National Geographic/Bogen Earth Explorer Medium Backpack (5162) and is able to comment on the quality and comfort of it?
Rogerxnz

Roger,
Although I have no knowledge of the Nationbal Geographic models, I can tell you my experiences with Tamrac have been anything but favourable.
I have one of their so called "pro" level bags (not the cheap made off- shore variety) and the shoulder strap buckles broke, sending my M6 body and lenses crashing to the floor.(carpeted fortunately). As you appreciate, the Leica M6 and 3 lenses, is not a heavy outfit. Regardless of what they state, the buckles and related hardware are made of cheap pot metal.Not brass or steel.
Another issue with Tamrac is that they really do skimp on the Velcro. Very little surface area to allow useable variations of the dividers.
I currently use a Lowe Pro Mini Trekker to carry my Contax 645 outfit with 3 lenses and accessories. Whilst this case isn't perfect, I have no difficulty carrying it on all day hikes. (I'm also 60+yrs and a shade under 5' 6").

Roger: you may want to consider the Journeyman backpack from Kinesis, which may be viewed at

http://www.kgear.com/p/#p450