Medium Format Forum

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

Tips on how to focus well with AcuteMatte and split image finder

judit_langh

I have a CM501 with waist level finder, Acute-Matte focusing screen with the split image finder in the middle of it. I am new to this system and have never used this kind of focusing screen before.

What are the secrets of getting it right? What is the best I can do if I want to focus on a subject's eyes and these are not right in the middle of the frame? What does it mean when the little split image thing turns partially dark?

In short, I am asking for useful tips and advice for focusing.

Thank you very much in advance.

Judit

One half of the split image rangefinder will darken when either your eye in not exactly over the thingy (using a prism finder, with its fixed eyepiece, helps. It's a bit more diffcult when using the waist level finder), or when using a 'slow' lens (f/4 or faster is fine, but problems begin at f/5.6)

You do need to find some bit in your subject that lends itself to this type of focussing, i.e. an edge, preferably straight, that can run across the split image.
And that thing needs to be in the bit of your subject you want to have in focus. Locating such a thing can be tricky.

If the bit you want in focus is not in the center of the image, just point the camera so that it is, focus, and recompose.
Focus will shift ever so slightly when moving the camera such that the bit you focussed on is in its original place again, but not enough to be a problem.
But you always have the option to use the focussing screen instead of the central split image, i.e. watch the out-of-center bit (in your ex&le your subject's eye) while focussing.

Judit, in addition to QG's excellent tips, I have 3 suggestions: