Medium Format Forum

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

Newbie Advice on Buying Classic 500 cm

frog6284

Hello all.

Im a student at Derby Uni and last year I used a Hasselblad 500c/m for the 1st time, and of course fell in love. I now have to have one.

I fell in love with one I found on ebay but lost the bidding by £2.64, which Im sure you can imagine was hugely distressing. I have recently been contacted by the seller advising it is now available for sale again as the buyer sent it back.

The buyer sent it back due to finding two microscopic scratches on the lens (only visible under a loupe). I have been in constant contact with the seller regarding the camera and he has advised me of all the details the buyer has supplied regarding the return. The buyer said "After careful scrutiny with guy in lab, we found that the lens didn’t affect pictures even under point sources, except some flare at very far corners, but could have been due to no shade."

I am really not sure what to do as I have fallen for this particular camera which is in brilliant condition, but am concerned about the small scratches. I don't know exactly where the scratches are on the lens, but please could someone offer some advice as I am going crazy.

I sounds to me that the lens isn't effecting the negatives but I really wanted some advise as I am new to this.

Luckily the seller is going away for 3 weeks so I have that time to make my decision so I'm using this time to research.