Medium Format Forum

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

MF Slide Projector

ttlied

Today, most of my MF shooting is on neg's, but to lower my processing/printing budget I'm considering to shoot more slides.

To be able to evaluate my slides, I'm looking for a reasonable priced MF Slide Projector. I have never used one before, so I was wondering if any of you have som recommendations on what I should be looking for.

I know there is a discontinued Hassy projector out there, but there are also other brands. Nowdays, most of my shooting is 645, some less on 6x6.

Hi Thor,
I shoot a lot of kodak ektachrome- I like the archival qualities, (it store easily and you see what you will get.. and it helps me also to cut down on printing costs and contact sheets. my feeling is that to project a "slide" is to take a huge risk of dust, scratches and handling. i am not willing to do that. I used to use glass mounts to protect them but that was back in the 70's and it was a pain! Now, I use a good light box and a 8x or 20x loop to see and evaluate details/ quality. This, for me, is the way to go. then i choose the image i want to print and it is still pristine in the sleeve. also- a used 6x6 projector will cost anywhere from 500-1000 US, -- a light box is considerably less. Anyway that's my 2 cents. Happy shooting!
\nicholas

I recently saw a used Rollei 6x6 projector in a local store. I cannot say what model it was, but it had Zeiss optics. It was demonstrated for me - a new world -sensational. I would not get use from it but thought the asking price of AU$700 seemed reasonable given its excellent condition. I think it also takes 6x4.5 trannies.