Medium Format Forum

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

Looking for recommendations to photograph a beach wedding at sunset

goofybird

Hello all - I have been asked by friends to photograph their wedding (on the beach in Hawaii at sunset, so you know the setting). I warned them that I am an amateur and have no idea of what I am doing, but they want me to do it anyway.
Of course, this means that I am in panic mode trying to find out everything I can before the disaster occurs. My plan is to use my hasselblad while my wife uses a digital (automatic) camera to take the same pictures (that way there is a chance that they will have some pictures that come out, even if I screw up).
Any suggestions/recommendations on what to do are welcome. My major concerns are:
1) what film would you recommend?
2) when photographing a wedding on the beach with the sunset as a background, what do you recommend (fill flash, f-stop adjustments , etc)?
3) Lens/filter recommendations?

I have a 500EL/M with a 500C as backup. Both tested and working well.

Thanks in advance - Ted Rose
uhoh.gif

> Do you have the option of going down to the beach (preferable a > few weeks) beforehand to do a "dry run" for checking out filters, > etc at the same relative time-of-day? Practice makes perfect as > they say...

> Hello Ted,