Medium Format Forum

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

HELP MY FILM IS NOT DEVELOPING

I'm a photo student in college...

For some reason my Hasselblad is not working anymore. I developed 2 rolls earlier this week and the past 7 rolls I shot have not developed. When developed the film is completely clear and not blackened ( as if it were exposed to light ). It keeps developing with a clear film plane. I can't really be more specific than that because I don't know what the problem is either.

Are there a couple of things I could check?

Andrew

I assume , you were using B/W negative film .
If that is true , it seems that your film is not exposed at all .
So what you should try is , take off the film magazine , turn the film crank at the camera , use an exposure time of lets say 1/8 of a second and press the release button .
You should see that the rear curtains of your camera open and you should also see , by looking through the opened curtains , that the shutter of your lens opens and closes again .
If the lens shutter does not open and close as expected , your lens has a problem .
If the curtains dont open and close , the problem seems to be with the body .
Assuming you loaded your film correctly .

Jürgen

If it is clear then it WASN'T exposed to light, so a print would be solid black and not show any image.

Set the lens f/stop wide open and the shutter speed to 1/15th or slower, take the film back off the camera and look through it as you fire the camera. You should see the shutter in the lens open for a brief moment and then close. If not, then the shutter may not be working.

Marc
Yes this time , but no competition :)
I just finished my update on the Scanner thread .

Hi Andrew