Medium Format Forum

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

Fresh owner of 501CM

zdenek

Hi all,

Yes, about six hrs ago I became an owner of a new 501CM kit!
happy.gif
happy.gif
Body Ser. No. xxSI30xxx, Magazine Ser. No. xxSI12xxx - both were produced in 2004 (right?), one year before discontinuing this model.

The camera is not so complicated as it seemed when I studied the instruction manual in advance to be ahead. It is nothing difficult to remove and attach the lens. It is easy to remove magazine and withdraw the film holder (three digits on the film holder really correspond to the last three numbers on the magazine ser. no.
happy.gif
happy.gif
) and to assemble the parts together again.

What it is not so easy at present as to the camera operation? It is the focusing, steady holding the camera and holding the horizon and vertical lines to be truly vertical. Also the mirror image seen on the screen is something I will have to get used to. The shutter release seems to be very stiff (surely I am spoiled by my Leica) - it puts up considerable resistance so I cannot held the camera without shake when firing off. Maybe a cable release could help. And, of course, much of practice.

Focusing screen is Acute-Matte D with split image which is seen by means of the magnifier. At some incorrect angle of sight the lower part of the circle becomes black. (???)

It happens that magnifier sometimes doesn't flip up, and a sligh dab to the lid of the viewfinder is necessary to do this. It is an unpleasant "detail", and I have it to fix in repair service here.

So I have a Hasselblad but it takes time I become a Hasselbladest.

Zdenek

Hi Zdenek,