Medium Format Forum

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

Experience with Planar 10035

Hi I am totally new in HB world.
Till now I have about 7 years experiences as an amateur photograph with compact and last 2 or 3 years with Nikon DSLR.

I am waiting now for receiving my first HW body 501 CM. I hope I did not made a mistake with this body. I only read some articles on the internet and my reason was that this body should be not bad.
I have started this thread because I did not find here a special thread for this lens.

I would like to see some pictures with this lens - portrait, landscape, architecture, nature, etc. I can not find a good picture gallery of this lens.
I would also know if I can really use it as a standard lens. Is it a good choice?

I will start with medium format and I do not want to start with a good lens.

Thank you for your ideas, photos and recommendations.

Sorry for mistakes in my "English", I am self-taught person.
Jan

Jan,

The 100 mm Carl Zeiss lens for Hasselblad is a great lens with minimal distorsion and amazing quality.

For portrait it may proof too much so the use of a Softar is recommended.

Jan

The CARL ZEISS CF PLANAR 3,5/100 is an outstanding lens . Extremely sharp and only very little distortion .
It was very much used by the NASA (modified handling version , to be used in space) .
This lens is my standard lens , when not using the CFV BACK .
For portraits , some people like it soft , some like it sharp .
A ZEISS SOFTAR I will do . Its a kind of personal preference .

Regards Jürgen