Medium Format Forum

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

Digital back

madsjensenphoto

Hi im really new to this Hassey game

I have been shooting with a Canon 1D mark II for years now. I am now working as an assistent at a commercial photography company for fashion photographer :)

I wanna sell my equipment, and get some medium format ( can enyone explain why it is called that ) So the cheapest Hassey solution for me as I can see it, and believe me it has to be cheap - 6000$ in total with back and camera, and im after used-second hand ofcourse :)

Any thoughts......

Mads Jensen
Denmark

Check my site if you want it is www.madsjensenphoto.com

Medium format is called that because it (with frames ranging from 6x4.5 cm to 6x9 cm) is in between "miniature format" a.k.a "small format" (24x36 mm '35 mm' format) and "large format" (sheet film of 4x5" and larger).
Medium format used to be called "small format" once...

I think it will be hard to get a basic kit (camera, 1 lens and a usable digital back) for that money.
Unless an old 6 MP (as in how any pixels there are in the images it produces, Austin
wink.gif
) with tiny chip (and thus huge crop factor) will do.

Hi there....

Yeah I know what 6 MP means :)

Im just wondering what hasselblad cameras can use digital backs, I really think it is a jungle out there...

Ok if the 6k is not enough, then how much do you guys think I need, for a MINt condition second hand kit?

Mk

G'Day Mads:

If it is 6000-7000 euro, fly to the US and offer it for a CWD package. You may just be surprised ! (Plus Warranty extensions, eh Jurgen!)

If it is 6000 USD, then as QG has written - you won't be happy with what you can get for that amount,in my opinion.

Welcome, and good luck with your brand new employment.

Cheers,

Colin

Mads: