Medium Format Forum

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

Best choice 503CW & PME45 or 205FCC

H

Hasselcam

Hello,

I am quite new to Hasselblad and for a while now I am considering to buy a V-sytem based kit because of the wonderful and legendary format of 6x6. I am wondering if anyone can help me on choosing between a 503CW with a PME45 prism or a 205FCC. Except for the huge price difference between these two systems, what are the most important reasons to put one above the other?

I know that the 205FCC has an electronic controlled shutter that can reach from 35m to 1/2000s (the 503CW ‘just’ reaches from 1m to 1/500s and is mechanical). The most important thing that I will make my decision up on will be the light meter's reliability and capability. I have read that the 205FCC has a ‘Zonesytem’ build in, my question is whether such system also works with color slide film (like Velvia and Provia). Also, can the 205FCC be used with a digital back?

Thanks!
Vincent