Medium Format Forum

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

A12 Back film loading question

fotoart

Hi,

I am new to hassy and use my new 500cm now for a month.
Normally when I insert film I have the back attached to the body.
Yesterday when in the woods, I got my second back and wanted to load a roll of film when not attached to the body.

When turning the film transport handle (normally 10 circles) i found that after 10 it still did not jam and the counter was on frame 4. I stopped winding and attached it to the body. From about frame 5 i got pics.

Must the cassette always be attached to the body when loading??

G'day:

Did you line up the black arrow bar to red dot? You can lose frames if not.

But maybe mechanical. Dunno!

Cheers,

Colin

PS Wildi says 'back on' is best (with dark slide out), but in practice I usually pre-load all my backs (off) before I go out.

Hi

Have you used the second back before? I have had seemingly mint condition backs mal-function if they are not serviced from time to time. I always pre-load my backs off camera and provided they are working OK there should be no problem.

Cheers Gareth

Gareth Davies (Garethd) wrote on August 06:

' 2007 - 12:18 pm,ve you used the second back before? I have had seemingly mint condition backs mal-function if they are not serviced from time to time. I always pre-load my backs off camera and provided they are working OK there should be no problem. '

This is a back I bought a week ago...

Are you sure it is an automatic A12 back?
Does it have a peep-hole when you flip the thingy on the back's back open?