Medium Format Forum

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

503cw or 501cm

livinglegend

I am a student who has learned on a Dslr and has been converted to the magnificence of MF. I have looked into it a bit by reading this forum and some other reviews and narrowed my desicion down to the 501 and the 503.

I will be learning with this camera so the more creature comforts the camera has the better (I'm guessing)

Most of my photography consists of street photography and little to no studio work. I also enjoy landscapes.
I guess Im just looking to extract some of the copious knowledge that is on this board as to what system I should go with.

Thank you in advance for your help.

There are few "creature comforts" with these cameras Jared.

They are precision machines dedicated to human control and creative thinking.

The only real difference between the 501CM and the 503CW is that the CW offers TTL flash control when using the correct flash. If you think you may wish to use TTL flash in future, select the 503CW. Otherwise they are basically the same camera.

That's what I use because I shoot weddings with my Hasselblads.

And Jared, one other less significant difference - the 503CW has a removable film advance handle allowing you to add the CW winder device, which is not possible on the 501CM.

I have both cameras and both are wonderful. If you plan on shooting quite a bit of flash, the 503's TTL flash capability is very handy and accurate. If some added ergonomics from attaching the (rather heavy) CW winder appeal to you, again the 503 is the way to go.

I started with the 501CM years ago because the 503's higher price was not really affordable to me. These days a good used 503CW body is relatively inexpensive - a great benefit of the digi-revolution!