Medium Format Forum

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

150 cfi or 160 cb

G

Hello,
This is my first time on here and i had a question about the 150 cfi and the 160 cb. as far as sharpness between the two lens. I will be using the lens for portraits and weddings.

I used a 160CB, which was on loan to me for about 8 months. I hated the bokeh and the OOF areas. The sharpness of the Tessar formation is decent at a smaller stop, but at 4.8, hair isn't displayed as sharp as it could on high key backgrounds.

With my 150, the sharpness is actually higher, and the lens is a bit more compact. Plus, the bokeh is a bunch more smoother than on the 160CB.

The 180 is the sharpest lens in the area, maybe too sharp & requiring a softar. The 180 is heavy as hell (compared to the 150). I shoot a lot of portraits (B&W & Color) and I do a ton of weddings too. The 150 is the best lens to use. Combine it with a tube 16 and you've got it made.

If you want the best for linear sharpness, color sharpness, and color quality, the 250SA is the ultimate lens!

I'd actually rather have a 150CF than the 160CB (that's after having both and shooting extensively with both)

> Hasselblad publishes Zeiss MTF charts in their catalog. Their MTF charts are actually measured off production lenses, not a theoretical calculation. The MTF shows the 180 to be slightly better than the 150, which in turn is slightly better than the 160 CB.

I have the 160mm having previously owned a C 150mm. I really like the 160mm. Excellent quality. Myself, I have no complaints about bokeh. However, since I make portraits outdoors while travelling,I never shoot fully opened, usually stopping down to f/ 8 or f/11. I bought this mint 160mm for a price that was much less than a used CF 150 would have cost me.